For the love of Fall…

It is October, contrary to this crazy Tennessee weather, it is supposed to be Fall. I don’t think we’re going to see much of Fall though. In honor of that, we  found a recipe for pumpkin spiced pancakes. My favorite pie is pumpkin. LOVE it. I don’t know why, I can’t tell you, but it has been my favorite for as far as I can remember. In fact, my dad used to call me “pumpkin pie eater” as a nickname. I don’t know. You’d have to know my dad. 🙂 Since we are going to make those we decided just to have breakfast. We made some scrambled eggs and for some reason, we craved tater tot casserole. For those that don’t know tater tot casserole is just like hash-brown casserole. I prefer the tater tots to the hash-browns but its whatever your preference is. Here are the recipes followed by pictures.

For our eggs, we cooked our sausage first, then cooked the eggs in the same skillet. Little milk, little butter, we added in spinach, tomato, cheese, and added in the sausage when the eggs were almost done.

Tater Tot Casserole

-1 frozen bag of tater tots

-1 can of cream of chicken soup

-salt and pepper to taste

-garlic powder to taste

-1 cup of shredded cheese

-3/4 cup of sour cream

-3 tablespoons of butter

Stir the soup, sour cream, salt, pepper, garlic powder, butter, and half of the cheese together. Add in the tater tots. Stir until every tot is covered. Put into a pan, we used glass so that way it doesn’t stick. Bake for 45 minutes to an hour on 375 uncovered until golden brown on top and bubbly.

Pumpkin Spiced Pancakes

-1 cup buttermilk pancake mix

-1 cup cold water

-1/3 cup canned pumpkin

-1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

-1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

-Nonstick vegetable cooking spray

-Butter, room temperature

In a medium bowl, whisk pancake mix, water, pumpkin, cinnamon, and ginger until just blended (do not over mix; mixture should be lumpy).

*Side note: We used baking flower versus the packet she suggested and we followed the directions on the box and added pumpkin pie spice and tasted it until we liked it and added some walnuts to it. We used more pumpkin, too, we used a little over half the can of 15 ounces. We also didn’t use ginger.*

Spray a heavy griddle with nonstick spray and heat griddle over medium heat. Spoon 2 tablespoons of batter onto griddle to form each pancake. Cook for 2 minutes or until bubbles appear, then turn pancakes over and cook for 2 minutes longer. Transfer pancakes to plates.

I hope you try the pancake recipe. It is really good. I was really impressed with it. Manda really liked it, too. I wouldn’t mind having it again. We served it with whipped cream and a little bit of maple syrup.

– Morgan

Leave a comment