Happy Birthday Dale Earnhardt Jr!!!!

So, everyone who knows me knows that I love racing, and that my favorite drivers are Martin Truex Jr. and Dale Earnhardt Jr.. Well today is Dale Jr.’s birthday!

 

This photo was made by me, but I do not own it. If you would like to see more art I've done please check out my page on Facebook K.B. Design ! thanks!

 

Morgan and I watched them race in Cali today. She was cheering for her driver Clint Bowyer, while I was pulling for Dale Jr., and lucky enough, he finished in the top 20 so that’s not too bad.

Well, last weekend when my parents came up we went to the outlet mall that is in Lebanon and they have a book store there. If you have never been shopping at this outlet mall, it’s pretty nice. They had some awesome deals. So not only did I get this awesome purple jacket from the GAP, I also got lucky in this book store.

Not long ago, Dale Earnhardt Jr.’s grandmother and Jeff Gordon’s mother got together  and wrote this cookbook. When this cook book first came out I really wanted it, however I haven’t been able to find it at a good price. Oh, and btw I LOVE, I mean LOVE cookbooks. Well, while my sister shopped for jeans, Morgan and I went into this book store.

And there it was, and at a great price!! Under ten bucks! So I bought it. This cookbook is one of the best books I have ever purchased!

It reminds me so much of my Granny Betty and home. I know many of the recipes in the book, but there are stories in the book that bring meaning to the recipes.

Sooooo, long story short I decided to bake a cake for Dale Jr’s birthday out of the book. (actually I just wanted to see if the cake was good cause it had SUNDROP in the title!!! ) :D

And if you didn’t know what Sundrop is……Let me introduce you!

It is awesome, and you should all go out and try it if you have never had it before!!!

So, I made this cake today during the race. It was my first time ever making a pound cake of any kind, so I really didn’t know what to expect. Another problem is the fact that I didn’t have a bunt pan, so I just used a silicon round pan. The recipe says bake for an hour and 15 minutes, I did this, but the middle didn’t get done so I baked it for another 15 minutes or until the middle had gotten done, I recommend using a bunt pan though. Another problem with using the round pan is when I flipped it over the cake messed up a little, so that is why the top isn’t so pretty! lol. So please forgive me :P. So, for me this cake taste alot like something my mom, or Granny Betty would make! It taste more lemony than it does sundrop, but it was still really good! So thank you Martha Earnhardt!!! :) For Morgan, she said it was good  and maybe we should have added a little more sundrop! But we both thought that this would make really good cookies or maybe muffins! :)

In the following photos, there are photos of the cake, cookbook, and the recipe, if you can’t read it let me know and I will send you a copy of it! :P Hope everyone likes it!

One Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Barb Hargrove
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 21:06:07

    pics didn’t come thru, hate when that happens, but I know tasted great!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

